I completed Scrimba's free Javascript course as a coding noob... was it worth it?

I completed Scrimba's free Javascript course as a coding noob... was it worth it?

ยท

2 min read

Today marks the day I finally completed Scrimba's free Javascript course... was it worth it? As a beginner, I thought that it was a very insightful course! As a casual learner, I occasionally practised programming 1-4 hours a day. The course is 8 hours and 7 minutes long, but since I was pretty new to coding Javascript, I believe it took me twice as long.

In the course, I was able to produce about 6 mini projects such as a people counter tracker, basketball point counter, a simple blackjack game, a "random" password generator, a Google Chrome Leads tracker extension, and finally a unit converter.

Throughout the course, I was able to learn and expand on concepts such as:

  • Script tag
  • Variables
  • Numbers
  • Strings
  • console.log()
  • functions
  • The DOM
  • getElementById()
  • innerText
  • textContent
  • Arrays
  • Objects
  • Booleans
  • If else statements
  • Comparison operators
  • Logical operators
  • For loops
  • The Math object
  • Return Statements
  • Const vs. Let
  • addEventListener vs. onclick=""
  • innerHTML
  • input.value
  • Function parameters and arguments
  • Template strings
  • localStorage
  • The JSON object
  • Object in arrays

Although I am barely scratching the surface in terms of Front End Development, Scrimba has definitely encouraged me to learn and enjoy programming every day (unlike some of the tutorials/courses I've tried so far). As my next step, I think I will try out Scrimba's free React course along with further expanding my knowledge in Javascript by trying out more mini-personal projects on the side!

Check out my Codepen for my Scrimba Javascript course!

ย